Skip to main content
board meeting

Governance Strategic Advisory Group

Specifically focused on contributing to good governance of the sector particularly providing scrutiny to Advance HE’s priority plans for governance.

The members of the Governance Strategic Advisory Group are listed below.

Group members

Janet Legrand KC (Hon)

Senior Lay Member of Court

University of Edinburgh

Also, Chair of the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI)

Lucinda Parr - Registrar and University Secretary, University of Bristol

Chris Costigan - University Secretary/Chief Compliance Officer, Ravensbourne University

Aidan Grills - Chief Executive, Leeds University Union 

Miguel Gonzales-Valdes Tejero - Education Officer, University of Manchester Students' Union

Wendy Appleby - Vice-President (Operations), University of Southampton

Professor Stuart Perrin - Associate Principal of XJTLU Entrepreneur College (Taicang)

Ada Burns - Chair of Council of Governors, Teesside University

Marianne Neville Rolfe - Vice-Chair of the Governing Council, University of Derby

Moss Garde - Registrar, St Patrick's Pontificial College, Maynooth

Adrienne Scullion - Pro Vice Chancellor  /  Lay Member of Court, Queen's University of Belfast  / Edinburgh Napier University

Martin Cullen - Managing Director / Council Member, Rockstar Promotions / University of Leicester

Dr Adeela ahmed Shafi - Associate Professor of Education, University of Gloucestershire

Melody Stephen - General Secretary of the Student Union, University of Manchester Students' Union

Professor Fary Cachelin - Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Regent’s University London

Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods - Chair of the Board, Northumbria University (CUC)

Dorothy Mackenzie – Chair, Arts University Bournemouth

Buff line

Terms of Reference

The Governance Strategic Advisory Group Terms of Reference and the relevant person specification is provided below.

Terms of Reference

Governance Strategic Advisory Group Terms of Reference